Progressive Triptych 3: Darkness and Light

Sunday, 9th September 2012 at 20:00
Maribor Cathedral, Maribor

Maribor Festival String Orchestra
Janez Podlesek – lead violin

Bernarda Bobro – soprano
Viktória Mester – mezzosoprano
Luc Gysbregts – viola d´amore
Tomaž Sevšek – Basso Continuo
Domen Marinčič – Basso Continuo
Maria Gamboz-Gradišnik - harp

Antonio Vivaldi: "Nisi Dominus" (Psalm 126) in G Minor, RV 608 (1710)
Arvo Pärt: Festina Lente (1988-1990)
Giovanni Battista Pergolesi: Stabat Mater Sequentia (in Festo Septem Dolorum B.M.V.) (1736)


Vivaldi-Thriller Nisi Dominus facing Pärt’s (religious) music motivated by religion that follows the ideal of simplicity and for the finale Pergolesi’s “Stabat Mater”– the work that represents a milestone and a model of the new, gallantly sensitive style of the 18th century.

Stabat Mater was written in 1736 shortly before the composer’s death and interprets a demonstration of the Neapolitan sacred music with unexpected vividness that immediately inflames the armour of this art form.

It is actually a duet for soprano and alto, where the singers can fully bloom/express themselves in the softly sonorous interplay of darkness and light.