Progressive Triptych 2: Visions

Sunday, 9th September 2012 at 18:00
Aloysius Church, Maribor

Thomas Demenga – cello
Dénes Várjon – piano
Izabella Simon – piano

Johann Sebastian Bach: Suite No. 6 in D-Major for cello solo BWV 1012 (1717–1723)
Olivier Messiaen: Visions de l'Amen (Visions of the Amen), for two pianos, No. 1 Amen de la Creation (Amen of Creation) (1943)
Ferenc  Liszt: Consolation, for piano No. 3 in D flat Major "Lento placido", S. 172/3 (LW A111a/2/2) (1850)
Ferenc Liszt: Années de Pèlerinage, Première Année (Years of Pilgrimage, First Year): Les Cloches de Genève: Nocturne (The Bells of Geneva: Nocturne) (1834)
Ferenc Liszt: Années de Pèlerinage, Troisième Année (Years of Pilgrimage,Third Year): Les jeux d'eaux à la villa d'Este (The Fountains of the Villa d'Este), S 163 No.4 (1848-1854)
Olivier Messiaen: Visions de l'Amen (Visions of the Amen), for two pianos, No. 3 Amen de l'Agonie de Jésus (Amen of the Agony of Jesus) (1943)
György Kurtág: "Blumen die Menschen, nur Blumen (… sich umschlingende Töne)" from Játékok (Games) (1973)
Johann Sebastian Bach / adapt. György Kurtág: Aus Tiefer Not Schrei Ich Zu Dir (BWV 687) (In Memoriam Joannis Pilinszky) from Játékok (Games) (1973)
György Kurtág: Erinnerungsbrocken aus einer Kolindenmelodie (Hommage á Farkas Ferenc) from Játékok (Games) (1973)

We experience Messiaen’s revolutionary Work “Visions de l’Amen” from 1943 that he composed for music classes with his student Yvonne Loriod. It is a religious meditation, which emotional intensity seems simply overwhelming.
Through the combination of various generations of composers the concert gives way to an encounter of different worlds of sound. At the same time it offers the famous Swiss cellist Thomas Demenga to tackle Bach’s suites.
Messiaen’s and Liszt’s meditative visions and new ways of coming closer the Bach.