Source of Muse

Friday, 7th September 2012 at 19:30
Union Hall, Maribor

Australian Chamber Orchestra
Krešimir Has – harpsichord
Richard Tognetti – Artistic Director and Lead Violin

Dénes Várjon – piano
Izabella Simon – piano

Johann Sebastian Bach / adapt. György Kurtág:

  • Gottes Zeit ist die Allerbeste Zeit (BWV 106) (Sonatina from "Actus Tragicus"),
  • O Lamm Gottes unschuldig (BWV Deest) (from Games) (1973)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Concerto for Violin, Piano and Strings in D Minor (1823)
Johann Sebastian Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048 (1721)
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Octet for strings in E flat Major, Op. 20 (1825)


The Hungarian pianist Dénes Várjon stars alongside Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra in the dazzling concerto by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy.

The ACO plays the much-loved Mendelssohn Octet and demonstrate their legendary Stradivarius, Guarneri and Guadagnini violins.

˝Várjon displays that most valuable of gifts: the ability to play in a way which makes you listen anew to the familiar.˝ Andy Gill, The Independent

“The enthusiasm and tightness of the ACO was nowhere better shown than in the Mendelssohn with its joyful, sweeping opening movement, quicksilver scherzo and romping closing figure.” Cumberland Newspapers